x

Migration of Databases from one server to another!!!

HI experts,

I am new to migration of database from one server to another.

1)So Any one tell me the articles/Guidance to do much better way of migration of database? and what are steps to be keep on eye/solve orphan user problem?

2)what is TRUSTWORTHY Database Property?

ALTER DATABASE AdventureWorks SET TRUSTWORTHY ON means????

more ▼

asked Feb 07, 2013 at 12:37 PM in Default

avatar image

askmlx121
2.5k 72 76 83

You don't need to mark your questions as community wiki. They're not.

Also, when you get an answer that is helpful, please click on the thumbs up to vote for it. When you get an answer that answers your question, please click on the check box next to that question. You've asked a ton of questions here but you're not marking the answers at all.

Feb 07, 2013 at 01:45 PM Grant Fritchey ♦♦

No Grant Fritchey, I have tried to mark the thumps up button once i got an answer. some time i could not able to come online that time i did nt tick the thumps up but when i came to online next time i would put mark the thump tick without any delay.

Feb 07, 2013 at 01:52 PM askmlx121

Not sure what you mean. You have enough reputation to be able to vote up & down. I'm not talking about this question. I'm talking about the other 52 questions you've posted. Of the 52, only one has a marked answer. All but one of your questions has at least one answer (many have more than one). If those answers solved your problem, you should mark them as the answer by clicking once on the check box next to that answer.

Feb 07, 2013 at 02:03 PM Grant Fritchey ♦♦

ok grnat fritchey i will strictly follow now thankx for remind me

Feb 07, 2013 at 02:23 PM askmlx121
(comments are locked)
10|1200 characters needed characters left

1 answer: sort voted first

The TRUSTWORTHY setting is mainly for use with CLR which enables a more access to lower level, and therefore less safe, functionality. Unless you know you need it, I'd leave this set to OFF on all databases.

As far as moving a database from one server to another, as long as we're talking about moving between the same versions and editions of SQL Server, orphaned users are really the only issue. If you're moving between versions, you only move up a version, not down when using attach or restore. If you're moving between editions, just be sure that nothing in the database is using Enterprise only functionality if it's a Standard server you're moving to.

For orphaned users, as for so much else in SQL Server, look to the Books Online. They've got a good article on it right here.

more ▼

answered Feb 07, 2013 at 01:42 PM

avatar image

Grant Fritchey ♦♦
137k 20 44 81

  • good grant fritchey

Feb 07, 2013 at 01:52 PM askmlx121

Thanking you..............super.......

Feb 07, 2013 at 01:53 PM askmlx121
(comments are locked)
10|1200 characters needed characters left
Your answer
toggle preview:

Up to 2 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 524.3 kB each and 1.0 MB total.

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

By RSS:

Answers

Answers and Comments

SQL Server Central

Need long-form SQL discussion? SQLserverCentral.com is the place.

Topics:

x2031
x302
x89
x3

asked: Feb 07, 2013 at 12:37 PM

Seen: 866 times

Last Updated: Feb 07, 2013 at 02:29 PM

Copyright 2017 Redgate Software. Privacy Policy